Marvellous marbling!

HlT5VbIn my last post, I shared some details about how I have been quilling with some of the gorgeous hand-marbled paper that I’ve recently bought. It is very easy to roll after being cut into strips, but I also wanted to try using it as a background to some open ring coils – and this is the result!

For each petal of this ‘floral creation’, I made a ring coil using 3mm purple strip, wrapped four times around a dowel, gluing along the whole length of the strip as I wrapped. After removing it from the dowel, I shaped it into an oval, then wrapped it four times around with gilt-edged gold strip. (I find you need to wrap an outline strip several times for it really to make a visual impact.) The resulting ring coil was very strong and easy to glue firmly on to the marbled paper. I made sure to spend some time selecting an ‘interesting’ section of the marbled pattern that would be framed by the ring. Once the glue had dried, it was simply a matter of trimming closely around the outside of the ring with scissors.

For the green sections of the piece, I tried to create some unusual foliage by threading tightly coiled tendrils through the apex holes of four loosely formed Pixie-Hood Loops. Pixie-Hood Looping is a technique found in antique quilling which has recently been endorsed as an officially recognised quilling shape by The Quilling Guild.

bE1ee8

I am pleased with the impact of the shapes and colours in this piece, and am now looking around for a suitable box frame in which to mount it. Hopefully this will end up for sale in the cabinet which I’m proud to say now contains several other pieces of my work at Gallery Fifty Five.

DSCF6596

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. eawalters13
    Aug 14, 2014 @ 15:32:01

    I like this idea Philippa. Love what you have done. Many years ago I did some hand marbling – some successful and some not, some of the better pieces I did use as a background to my quilling at that time. I did however keep all my attempts I will have to find them and see what I have. You have inspired me to try something different.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

