Party time!

It’s always a delight to share the joys of quilling with children, so I was thrilled to be asked recently to stage a ‘quilling party’ to help celebrate the 9th birthday of a very talented young lady of my acquaintance named Celia. Regular readers of my blog may recall that Celia was my ‘star pupil’ at Hartley Wintney’s Culture On The Common event last year.

Celia's card

I began my preparations a couple of weeks ago, with my first task being to design and quill a special birthday card for Celia (see above). I created an embossed frame border for a little typographical background panel to contain the greeting, and then added some quilled balloons and multi-coloured solid coils. The candy-stripe strip along the left hand edge is part of a streamer that I pocketed a while ago after a Christmas party! I’m pleased to say that Celia loved my design.

For the party, Celia wanted to do a collage project that she and her eight friends could work on together. In consultation with her Mum, I decided on an undersea background scene which the girls could decorate with simple quilled fish, starfish and coral (all made using basic closed loose coils).

Undersea backgroundSo I began by creating a background image in Photoshop using some of its fabulous digital brushes to create colours in the water above a sandy sea bed. By printing two copies of the image and gluing them together side by side on to some mount board, I was able to create an A3 size background for the collage, to which I couldn’t resist adding a few ‘example’ bits of quilling myself just to get the project started:

DSCF6822

At the party, I showed the girls my background, and then passed round some pre-made closed loose coils for them to pinch and shape in their fingers. Hey presto, we quickly created some excellent fish bodies and tails! Then I showed them how to roll coils for themselves, and it wasn’t long before fantastical tropical fish, multi-coloured starfish and coral were in full production for the collage. I also supplied a packet of stick-on ‘joggle eyes’ which certainly helped to bring the fish and starfish to life!

Here are some scenes from the party, all published here with prior permission from the girls’ parents:

That's me on the left, showing the girls the collage background.

That’s me on the left, showing the girls the collage background.

Here's one I made earlier!

Here’s one I made earlier!

Celia (3rd from left) watches intently as we begin to quill.

Celia (3rd from left) watches intently as we begin to quill.

20150208_111539[1]

Celia and her friend Lucy (centre) look on as I show them how to create an eccentric coil.

Celia and her friend Lucy (centre) look on as I show them how to create an eccentric coil.

DSCF6824

Finally we start gluing our creations on to the collage

Finally we start gluing our creations on to the collage

Because there were a relatively small number of guests at the party, I was able to supply each of them with a fine-tip glue dispenser and tweezers, plus cut-out panels from window envelopes on which to spread thin layers of glue for ‘dipping’. In this way, we attached our quillings to the collage … and here’s the end result:

The finished collage

The finished collage

So that all the girls would have some quilling to take home with them, they each reserved one of the fish that they had made to put on a separate gift tag. While they were all tucking in to their party food, Celia’s Mum and I attached the tags individually to their going-away presents.

20150208_123849[1]

What fun we had! I was thrilled by how quickly the girls picked up the knack of coil-rolling, and how readily their imaginations were fired into action to create this lovely scene.

Now I’m gearing up for another children’s workshop: a local Girl Guides’ meeting next month where we will be creating Mothers Day cards.

More details about my quilling parties, workshops and individual tuition can be found on my website at: http://learntoquill.weebly.com/index.html

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shei70bur
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 11:40:19

    Lovely, Philippa!

    Like

    Reply

  2. sathyakala
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 12:11:01

    Jus lovely…Love to see them so curious to know and learn the techniques 🙂 Always a great fun to teach these little minds 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  3. pilynunez
    Feb 10, 2015 @ 16:47:42

    What original idea of quilling party!!!.
    The card is very beautiful and collage was spectacular.
    Brilliant ideas
    Congrats Phillippa… and congrats to the little artists too.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

