Let there be light!

DSCF7248

Here’s the birthday card I’ve made for my friend Nicky … inspired by today’s post on The Quilling Guild members’ blog, and captured on camera inside my new photographic light box! I would never previously have attempted to photograph work on a dark winter’s night – but I’m pleased to say it’s turned out OK, thanks to some powerful lamps. No shadows, either! I thought about lightening the image even further using Photoshop, but didn’t want to ‘bleach’ the colours. It’s all still a learning curve for me.

I printed the lettering for the card via word processing software, and then set about decorating the initial letter with quilling, using a variety of different techniques. I could easily have gone on and on adding decoration, but I decided that sometimes ‘less is more’. Hopefully this was a good place to stop.

If you’d like to know more about the Guild’s blog and how you can access it, please visit this link. The blog has been going for nearly three years now, and I can promise you it’s a good read!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cecelia Louie
    Dec 02, 2015 @ 16:36:11

    Nicely done Philippa! Yes, a light box and bright light makes so much difference! Aiming the lights at the top of your box and letting it bounce back down also gives a soft shadow effect.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

